Young ANU scientists make their mark with Tall Poppy honours

Four outstanding early career researchers from The Australian National University (ANU) who are forging new ground in fields spanning tissue engineering to how we experience and communicate emotions have been recognised with ACT Young Tall Poppy Science Awards. 

Dr Kiara Bruggeman, Dr Joshua Chu-Tan, Dr Bjorn Sturmberg and Dr Amy Dawel have been honoured for pushing scientific boundaries and fostering an appreciation for the sciences by communicating their work to the public.  

The awards are considered an early indicator of Australia’s future scientific leaders. They highlight the excellent work of young scientists who have made significant contributions to their respective fields of science that will benefit Australia and the world.  

Dr Bjorn Sturmberg is passionate about helping people achieve zero carbon emissions in their daily lives. His work combines engineering studies with social research to shape the way clean energy technologies such as solar power, batteries and electric vehicles integrate into the electricity grid and our everyday lives.   

Clean energy systems are critical to tackling climate change by reducing the world’s carbon emissions. But charging these billions of renewable energy powered homes, vehicles and industries creates challenges for the electricity grid, and this is something Dr Sturmberg is working to address.   

He said it’s an honour to play such a crucial role informing the headlines and shaping agendas when it comes to communicating the facts around climate change.  

“I believe that society-wide issues such as climate change can only be addressed when all members of society support, and participate in, the required changes,” Dr Sturmberg said.   

“Playing a role in shaping an inclusive and engaging conversation around these issues, based on the established facts and latest research outlooks, is fulfilling and a privilege.”  

Full story: